Webinar: The intersecting human rights challenges facing women affected by leprosy

3 Dec 2020 | Online

The intersecting challenges facing women affected by leprosy-related disabilities in accessing their rights to health, livelihood, & family:

On the occasion of the 13th session of the UN’s Conference of the State Parties to the CRPD, The Leprosy Mission & Disabled Peoples’ International invite you to attend the side event on:

The intersecting challenges facing women affected by leprosy-related disabilities in accessing their rights to health, livelihood, and family and how these can be effectively addressed using the CRPD framework both now and after Covid-19.

This event is listed at 08:30 Eastern Time (US) in line with the UN’s location in New York. It will be taking place at:

  • 13:30 GMT
  • 14:30 WAT
  • 19:00 IST

The objective of the side event will be to shed light on the barriers faced by women affected by leprosy-related disabilities when accessing their human rights, particularly the rights to health, livelihoods, and family. The side event will aim to identify how the CRPD framework can support women in addressing and overcoming these challenges, both through advocacy at the United Nations and at the national level.

The panel will share recommendations for women affected by leprosy, for national governments, NGOs, and DPOs and will address how the Covid-19 pandemic has had an impact on women affected by leprosy-related disabilities accessing their rights.

TLM , DPI, and  The Nippon Foundation have partnered on this event.

For more information, please contact tim.burton@leprosymission.org

Visit Site >